Key Learning Areas

The school curriculum is divided into 6 different learning areas which include a number of subjects taught in the classroom:

  • English - Reading, Writing, Talking and Listening
  • Mathematics - Number, Space and Geometry, Measurement, Data, Patterns and Algebra, Working Mathematically
  • Science and Technology - Science (Investigating and Designing), Computer Education
  • Creative and Practical Arts - Music, Visual Arts (Art and Craft), Drama and Dance
  • Human Society and its Environment - Social Studies, Environmental Education, Religious Education, Multicultural and Aboriginal Education
  • Personal Development. Health and Physical Education - Health and Safety, Sport, Drug Education, Child Protection, Peer Support

Primary schools in NSW follow a curriculum based on stages of learning. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop.


  • Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten
  • Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6

The Board of Studies develops a syllabus for each of the learning areas. Along with a defined aim, each syllabus has a set of objectives and outcomes, expressed in terms of knowledge and understandings, skills, values and attitudes.